A Travellerspoint blog

New Zealand, Australia and beyond

sunny 25 °C

So it's a week later and so much has changed! Last Saturday, I was tired from a long bar/restaurant shift, and living in a hostel room with three boys. Today, I had a lie in, went for a run along Rose Bay Harbour (lots of boats and you can see the Opera House from across the water), went shopping and for lunch, and have done a few hours babysitting at lunch and in the evening. So this is how it all changed...

Saturday evening, I went for dinner with Kara (who I met on the RSA course), and Alisha (a 22 year old American au pair). Alisha was going to help with a child's birthday party the following day and spoke to Lindsay, a mum, who she knew wanted to find an au pair. Sunday lunchtime, I had a phone call asking to meet me in the afternoon. I met Kara, and we went for some lunch, where I asked a millio questions.... "What do I wear?", "What do I ask?", "What do they expect?" etc. Nervous wasn't the word!

So I went wandering up the hill towards Bellevue Hill and arrived 45 minutes early! I know what you're thinking.... I'm never early anywhere! Weird! I could see a spot of grass at the bottom of five sets of steps, so decided to chill down there for a bit to calm myself. I was happily looking through my photos, and listening to my music, when I was interrupted by some 70 year old shouting at me fro the pavement! Rude! Turns out he wasn't being so rude. As he said, "You'd be best sitting on the other side of the tree in case they hit you when they're tee-ing off". Apparently I was sitting on a golf course, and this man was looking out for my head and safety. Whoops! I thanked him a lot, moved to the other side of the tree, and sat down again, safely in the knowledge I wouldn't get hit. When a golf ball whacked a nearby tree, that was enough for me to move and sit on the wooden edging surrounding the course, out of the way for once and for all.

I was greeted at the gate by a cavadoodle (cavalier king charles poodle cross) called Charlie, a four year old boy Ariel, 17 month old girl Mila (pronounced Miller), and Dean (the dad). I then met Lindsay. I'd been told they were a well off family, and that Bellevue Hill was a wealthy area. The house was lovely, and yet Lindsay says it's a bit of a mess at the moment and they are going to renovate at some point.

Long story short, I am offered the job, and started Tuesday. During the week, I work three hours in the morning looking after the girl whilst Lindsay takes Ariel to school and then do a few chores. I then do another three hours in the afternoon playing with Mila some more, and doing bits and bobs around the house. Weekends are flexible. Sometimes I will have to work til 8 on a Friday, and babysit Saturday evenings. They are flexible though. Tidying up after four people, plus myself, and doing laundry, ironing, hoovering, floors etc is a fair bit to do, but I get to also take Mila to the park, cafe or beach, play games, and run around like a big child again. In return, I have my own bedroom with TV and dining table, fridge/freezer, kettle and toaster, and bathroom with a shower. The laundry room is down here too, so I can do my laundry and use the wifi, plus the feed/water me all for free. Plus, I get a weekly salary. Not doing too badly!

Yesterday was good. Went to the park (Mila fell off the bench but Lindsay doesn't know that, and I was asked if she was my first - we both brown hair, blue eyes), and then gave her lunch. In the evening, their whole family came round for dinner. They are Jewish and South African, so every Friday is a family gathering. I helped prepare dinner then ate my food downstairs. When I took my plate back upstairs, I was then given Eton Mess, chocolate, and half a bottle of imported wine which was going spare. Good way to start the weekend! They are a very cute family, and healthy too. Dinner each night is meat of some sort, with vegetables and salad, and they both exercise like crazy.

So then we are at today. I am putting Ariel, the boy, to bed in a bit, then babysitting whilst Lindsay and Dean go out for dinner together. I always have Sundays off, so tomorrow a few of us au pairs are doing the Bondi to Coogee coastal walk. It's a 6k walk along the coast heading south, and up until October, you can see whales. In the Summer, you should be able to see dolphins. They also have the 'Sculptures by the Sea' exhibition at the moment, which is a small events of sandcastle type features along the coast which you can see from the walk. So it should be a good day.

I will keep you all updated on my outings and plans for Australia. The family have a holiday home they go to over Christmas, but haven't been told where it is yet. I have been invited though, so we shall see.... If it's a two week break in Hawaii, I'm there!! Anyway, nearly 7pm so must go. I'm really pleased to be hearing from you all still too :D Helps with the home-sickness. Love you all xx

Posted by Charlief 03.11.2012 00:32 Archived in Australia

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUponRedditDel.icio.usIloho

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

This blog requires you to be a logged in member of Travellerspoint to place comments.

Enter your Travellerspoint login details below

( What's this? )

If you aren't a member of Travellerspoint yet, you can join for free.

Join Travellerspoint